Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 27th, 2011

“oh, are you from the waldorf group? or are you just a part of the homeschooling group?”
“we are…we are…i am not sure. i guess we are just finding our way.”

this morning we took castle james for a walk with my mom and her dogs. the kids wore their rain boots and enjoyed wading through the unusually high but still only ankle deep streams at the racecourse.

after that walk we dropped castle james off at our house and drove “on two highways!” to the outdoor playdate at the mass audobon site again. this is my attempt to connect with some local waldorf homeschoolers. it also ends up being a nice little chunk of time spent outside in nature where i have almost no agenda. i don’t know the other adults well enough to be yearning to catch up with them, no one seems to be bothered by how my children both hang on me or want to be in my lap or are too shy to play with the other kids just yet. i am just there to feel things out and with the added bonus that we are in a lovely setting and doing some nature exploring.

two nature walks in one morning is a lot though – for a not even three yet year old. after about an hour and a half it was time for us to head home. i thought somehow, when i first got the idea of attending these, that going would answer questions for me. that it would help me to know where we are in terms of educational style and planning or at least help me see what i am aiming for. in the end though it is just time outside with other nice folks. and when, sitting by the turtle pond, one of the other mother’s there asked me which group i was from the answer didn’t seem any clearer at all.

but i didn’t feel panicked about it.
actually, it felt kind of peaceful.
just finding our way.

Read Full Post »